Main menu

Managing project roles

This page explains the custom role management features available to Pro accounts. See also general information on adding team members.

Default roles

Loco provides a built-in Translator role and starts you off with three default collaborator roles: Administrator, Project Manager and Developer. With a Pro account you can add more roles or simply change the defaults.

Each role applies a set of permissions as shown in the table below. Note that these permissions only apply to projects and a team member is only granted these permissions once added to a project belonging to your account.

Although the built-in Translator role can't be modified, you can add custom translator roles as explained below.

Custom roles

All roles you define are available when adding team members to any of your projects. See adding project collaborators.

Adding a new role

From the main project management view, the "Team" panel on the right-hand side provides the option to "Manage project roles". Clicking this will bring up a window containing the current list of roles to manage.

Clicking "Add role" brings up a form for you to enter the details of a new role:

  1. Enter a name and optional description;
  2. Specify one or more translation permissions, or choose "all languages";
  3. Optionally select additional privileges for management and developer access;
  4. Click "Create role".

To assign this role to a new team member you can click the :add icon: from the role list, or select "Add a team member" from the "Team" panel.

Editing a role

The interface for editing a role is the same as for adding one. Click the :cog icon: from the roles list to change its settings.

Editing a role will reassign permissions to anyone with that role. Be aware that project roles are shared across your account so altering them may affect access to more than one project.

Deleting a role

You can delete any role except the built-in translator role. Click the :trash icon: from the roles list to confirm deletion.

Deleting a role does not lock any team members out of their projects. Anyone assigned a role that no longer exists will keep all their permissions until you assign them a new role or remove them from the project.

Translation permissions

In addition to the global permission to translate all languages, you may assign specific languages to a role in advance of adding them to your projects. This is more powerful than adding guest translators in free accounts, because adding guests can only be done on a per-project basis.

This feature allows you to set up custom translator roles. For example: you could define a role called "French translator" and specify that team members with this role are able to translate into French ("fr") whenever it exists in any of their projects.

You should always choose the least specific locale possible when defining translator roles. This ensures that more specific project locales are always matched. For example: choosing "zh" would grant permission to translate "zh", "zh-CN" and "zh-Hans". But choosing "zh-CN" would not match "zh" or "zh-Hans" as the "CN" region makes it too specific.

Management permissions

The following shows the individual project permissions that exist in Loco. The roles across the top are the defaults.

~ Administrator Project Manager Developer Translator
Translate all languages
Modify project settings
Add new project members
Manage project permissions
Remove project members
Add project locales
Edit project locales
Delete project locales
Add new assets
Edit asset properties
Delete assets
Add new tags
Rename tags
Delete tags
Access spreadsheets
Access developer tools
Edit developer attributes

Translators have no project privileges beyond editing translations in their designated languages. See adding translators and customizing translation permissions.

Note that permission to edit or delete is always granted on the things you've created yourself. For example a Project Manager can add assets, but can only delete their own. Administrators can delete anyone's assets because they have the explicit "delete assets" permission.

Developers

The default developer role is highly privileged, and includes the ability to delete items created by others. If you wish to define your own (perhaps less privileged) developer role, be sure to keep the following permissions enabled:

  • Access developer tools
    Required for obtaining API keys and exporting translations to file. Without this permission the "developer tools" panel will not visible in the project dashboard.

  • Edit developer attributes
    Required for managing asset IDs and contexts, which may critical for your developer's code integrity. Note that permission to add and edit assets does not implicitly allow setting of these attributes; the extra privilege must be granted explicitly.