Main menu

How to leave Loco and have all your data destroyed

You can initiate the closing of your account from the Account dropdown in the top-right of your dashboard.

Click "Account settings" and then select the "Delete" tab from the window that opens. Tick the confirmation checkbox and click the "Delete" button to request permanent account closure. Submitting this form will immediately disable your account and begin destroying your data.

Alternatively you can request the closure of your account by contacting us. As soon as we receive your request we'll begin the same data deletion process as above.

We won't contact you to confirm your account is closed, but we way email you if we need to verify your request is genuine. You'll know we've closed your account when you can no longer log in.

Project data

If you're the owner of any collaborative translation projects, you won't be able to close your account until you've deleted them. This is done by finding the project in your team dashboard and clicking its :trash icon:.

We ask you to delete your own projects to ensure against accidental deletion of data to which other team members might need continued access. If you want to close your account without deleting your projects, please contact us with consent to transfer them to a new owner before deleting your account.

Deletion and retention

We guarantee to destroy your data as far as legally and physically possible within 30 days. The reality is that most of your data will be wiped from our active system much more quickly than that, usually within a few hours.

There may be remnants of data that will take longer to expire (such as log file entries, and data backups). It's also possible that some of your data is subject to a retention period for legal reasons (such as tax records). See our terms and conditions and privacy policy for full details on data destruction and retention.